Butterfly lips
Butterfly lips has two conflicting descriptions in the sources used here. Hubmed's injector training guide describes a lifted upper-lip centre and defined Cupid's bow; InjectCo's clinic guide describes fullness spreading toward the corners for width. Ask which version an injector means before using this name to describe your goal.
One of the looks you can preview on your own photo
Butterfly lips at a glance
- Source-reported amount
- 0.3–0.6 mL
- Technique
- A specialist technique; ask how often the injector does it
- Type of filler
- A soft gel that moves with your lip
- How long it lasts
- 6–9 months, as reported
Also called butterfly lip filler, butterfly technique.
Sources describe materially different results under this one name. Treat it as a starting point for a conversation, not a definite outcome.
A direct contradiction, not a nuance. A training guide for injectors describes central lift, with bulk at the sides deliberately avoided; a clinic guide describes fullness fanning outward to the sides for width, with the Cupid's bow left soft. These are opposite placements under one name. Anyone asking for butterfly lips should be asked which they mean.
What it looks like
From the front
Hubmed's version has more height and definition at the centre, with little added width. InjectCo's version has a wider, softer outline and less emphasis on the bow. The drawing here illustrates the central-lift interpretation; it does not resolve the disagreement.
From the side
Hubmed emphasises central lift and balance rather than a large pout. InjectCo describes a more projected lip body in its width-focused version. A front-view illustration cannot establish either side profile on your face.
Butterfly lips before and after on 7 demo faces
An illustrative comparison on 7 demo faces at amounts up to the source-reported 0.6 mL upper bound. Source amount: 0.3–0.6 mL. See the source notes for which description this belongs to. Amount labels are preview settings, not treatment recommendations. Sources use this name for different descriptions. The frames are visual interpretations, not proof of one agreed technique. Pick a face and drag to compare.
What to look at: Look separately at the height of the upper-lip centre and the width toward the corners. The drawing shows the central-lift version. The demo amounts are visual comparison settings; they do not validate either clinic description or prescribe an amount.
Where the filler goes for Butterfly lips
Hubmed describes emphasis at the upper-lip centre and bow while avoiding bulk at the sides. InjectCo describes broader fullness toward the outer lips. These are different approaches under one name, so the intended shape must be clarified in consultation.
Parts of the lip involved
- Philtral columns
- Upper centre
- Cupid's bow
- Central height
Who it suits
Good for
Not the best choice for
These points are about your lips, which an injector can look at and judge. Face shape is a different matter: Marketing sources associate the width-oriented reading with heart-shaped, square and long faces; not clinically established, and it contradicts the trade description. That idea comes from clinic marketing, has no clinical basis, and is not a reason to choose or rule out a look.
Butterfly lips vs the other lip filler looks
Any of these can be previewed on the same photo. What sets them apart is how much filler is used, where it goes, and what changes as a result.
| Look | Source-reported amount | What changes | Technique |
|---|---|---|---|
| Butterfly lipsSources disagree | 0.3–0.6 mL | Crisper outline, Lips come forward more | Specialist |
| Russian lips | 0.5–1 mL | Crisper outline, Upper lip turns out a little | Specialist |
| Cherry lipsSources disagree | Not stated by sources | Smoother, plumper surface, Smoother texture | Standard |
| Keyhole lipsSources disagree | Not stated by sources | Crisper outline, Lips come forward more | Specialist |
| Heart-shaped lipsSources disagree | Not stated by sources | Crisper outline, Lips come forward more | Specialist |
| Cupid's bow lips | Up to 0.5 mL | Crisper outline | Standard |
| Doll lipsNot a distinct technique | Not stated by sources | Lips come forward more, Crisper outline | Not a distinct technique |
| Natural lip enhancement | 0.5–1 mL | Smoother, plumper surface, Soft, natural-looking shape, Smoother texture | Standard |
| Bow-tie lipsNot a distinct technique | Not stated by sources | Crisper outline | Not a distinct technique |
Preview Butterfly lips on your own photo
Compare the central height, outline and width in the illustration and front-view demo. These are visual approximations of a loosely defined name. Your own-photo preview cannot establish injection placement, suitability, movement or healing. Explain which of the two descriptions you mean when discussing it with an injector.
Try it on your photoRendered with Juvederm Volbella XC (from 0.55 mL) or Restylane Kysse (from 0.5 mL).
Product names are trademarks of their respective owners. LookPrep is independent and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any manufacturer. Names are used only to identify the products a person may discuss with a qualified provider.
Good to know before you decide on Butterfly lips
Butterfly lips: common questions
Keep reading
Where this information comes from
Written by LookPrep Editorial · Sources checked · How we write these pages
Hubmed, a training publisher, supplies the central-lift description and its 0.3 to 0.6 mL range. InjectCo, a clinic marketing source, supplies the conflicting width description. Both give 6 to 9 months, but agreement between these guides is not comparative clinical evidence. The Life review supports anatomy terminology; the FDA supports general filler safety information. It is still a style name rather than a medical term, so ask your injector what they mean by it.
- 1.Dermal Filler Do's and Don'ts for Wrinkles, Lips and More (FDA) — research or public health guidance
- 2.Anatomical-Based Diagnosis and Filler Injection Techniques: Lips and Philtrum (Life, 2025) — research or public health guidance
- 3.Butterfly Lips Filler Technique: Aesthetic Guide for Injectors (Hubmed Education) — training material for injectors
- 4.Lip Filler Shapes, Types & Styles Guide 2026 (InjectCo) — clinic marketing, treat with care
LookPrep is not a medical provider. This page explains how a look is described; it does not diagnose, prescribe, or predict your result. A qualified injector decides what is realistic and safe for you.

